Select Committee on Science and Technology Fourth Report


BBSRC Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

BETTA British Electricity Trading and Transmission Arrangements

BNFL British Nuclear Fuels

BRE Building Research Establishment

CCLRC Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils

CHP Combined heat and power

DEFRA Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DNO Distribution Network Operators

DTI Department of Trade and Industry

EAC Environmental Audit Committee

ECSC Energy Conservation and Solar Centre

EPSRC Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

ERRG Energy Research Review Group

ESRC Economic and Social Research Council

EST Energy Saving Trust

IFMIF International Fusion Materials Irradiation Facility

ITER International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor

JAERI Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute

JET Joint European Torus

LCIP Low Carbon Innovation Programme

LMA Liabilities Management Authority

RCEP Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution

MAST Mega Amp Spherical Tokamak

Mwe Mega Watt equivalents

NEDO New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organisation

NEF New Energy Foundation

NERC Natural Environment Research Council

NERN National Energy Research Network

NETA New Electricity Trading Arrangements

NFFO Non-Fossil Fuel Orders

NNC National Nuclear Corporation

OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

PIU Performance and Innovation Unit

RD&D Research, development and demonstration

REA Renewable Energy Authority

UKAEA UK Atomic Energy Authority

UKERC UK Energy Research Centre

TXU Texas Utilities Company

UMIST University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 3 April 2003