Select Committee on Transport Fourth Report

The Transport Committee

The Transport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Transport and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe) (Chairman)

Tom Brake MP (Liberal Democrat, Carshalton and Wallington)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist, East Londonderry)

Mr Brian H. Donohoe MP (Labour, Cunninghame South)

Clive Efford MP (Labour, Eltham)

Mrs Louise Elllman MP (Labour/Co-operative, Liverpool Riverside)

Ian Lucas MP (Labour, Wrexham)

George Osborne MP (Conservative, Tatton)

Mr John Randall MP(Conservative, Uxbridge)

Mr George Stevenson MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Mr Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Manchester Blackley)

The following members were also a member of the committee during the parliament.

Mr Chris Grayling MP (Conservative, Epsom and Ewell)

Helen Jackson MP (Labour, Sheffield, Hillsborough)

Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Clerk), Dr John Patterson (Second Clerk), Dr Greg Marsden (Committee Specialist), Miss Frances Allingham (Committee Assistant) and Lis McCracken (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Transport Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6263; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 19 June 2003