Select Committee on Constitutional Affairs Second Special Report

The Constitutional Affairs Committee

The Constitutional Affairs Committee (previously the Committee on the Lord Chancellor's Department) is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Constitutional Affairs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chairman)

Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative, Worthing West)

Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Ross Cranston MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Mrs Ann Cryer MP (Labour, Keighley)

Mr Jim Cunningham MP (Labour, Coventry South)

Mr Hilton Dawson MP (Labour, Lancaster and Wyre)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Clive Soley MP (Labour, Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton Test)

The following Member was a member of the Committee during the inquiry:

Mr Mark Field MP (Conservative, Cities of London and Westminster)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. A list of Reports of the Committee published in the present parliament is at the back of this volume.

All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Roger Phillips (Clerk), Richard Poureshagh (Committee Assistant), Alexander Horne (Legal Specialist) and Julie Storey (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Constitutional Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196. The Committee's email address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 9 February 2004