House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings Defence


House of Commons

Defence Committee

Minutes of Proceedings

Session 2003–04

Ordered by The House of Commons

to be printed 18 November 2004

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South) (Chairman)

Mr James Cran MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)

Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)

Mike Gapes MP (Labour, Ilford South)

Mr Mike Hancock CBE MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Mr Frank Roy MP (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rachel Squire MP (Labour, Dunfermline West)

Mr Peter Viggers MP (Conservative, Gosport)

The following member was also a member of the Committee during the Session.

Mr Crispin Blunt MP (Conservative, Reigate)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mark Hutton (Clerk), Richard Cooke (Second Clerk), Ian Rogers (Audit Adviser), Daniel Korski (Committee Specialist), Adrian Jenner (Inquiry Manager), Lis McCracken (Committee Assistant), Sheryl Dinsdale (Secretary) and James McQuade (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media enquiries should be addressed to Adele Brown on 020 7219 0724.

Proceedings of the Committee

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared: 1 April 2005