Select Committee on Defence Fourth Report

The Committees on Strategic Export Controls (Quadripartite Committee)

The Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry Committees are appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Department for International Development, the Department of Trade and Industry, and any associated public bodies .

Current membership
DEFENCE: Mr Crispin Blunt*, Mr James Cran, Mr David Crausby, Mike Gapes, Mr Bruce George*§, Mr Mike Hancock, Mr Dai Havard, Mr Kevan Jones, Mr Frank Roy, Rachel Squire*, Mr Peter Viggers*.

FOREIGN AFFAIRS: Donald Anderson*§, Mr David Chidgey, Mr Fabian Hamilton*, Mr Eric Illsley, Mr Andrew Mackay*, Andrew Mackinlay, Mr John Maples*, Mr Bill Olner*, Mr Greg Pope, Sir John Stanley*, Ms Gisela Stuart.

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT: Tony Baldry*§, John Barrett*, Mr John Battle*, Hugh Bayley, Ann Clwyd*, Mr Tony Colman*, Mr Quentin Davies*, Mr Piara S Khabra*, Chris McCafferty, Mr Andrew Robathan, Tony Worthington*.

TRADE AND INDUSTRY: Mr Roger Berry (Chairman of the Committees' joint meetings)*, Richard Burden, Mr Michael Clapham, Mr Jonathan Djanogly, Mr Nigel Evans*, Mr Lindsay Hoyle, Mr Andrew Lansley*, Mrs Jackie Lawrence, Mr Martin O'Neill*§, Linda Perham, Sir Robert Smith.

* Member who participated in the inquiry leading to this Report
§ Chairman of a participating Committee.

The committees are departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in Standing Order No 152. The powers of the Committees to work together and agree joint reports are set out in Standing Order No. 137A. These Standing Orders are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committees are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committees (including press notices) are on the Internet at and can be found by going to the webpage of any of the four participating Committees. A list of joint Reports of the Committees in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff
The staff who currently work for the Committees on their joint inquiries into strategic export controls are: Steven Mark (Clerk), Christopher Dawnay (Committee Specialist) and Sheryl Dinsdale (Committee Assistant).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committees on Strategic Export Controls, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committees' email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 18 May 2004