Select Committee on Foreign Affairs Seventh Report

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership
Rt Hon Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East) (Chairman)
David Chidgey MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)
Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour, Leeds North East)
Eric Illsley MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)
Rt Hon Andrew Mackay (Conservative, Bracknell)
Andrew Mackinlay MP (Labour, Thurrock)
John Maples MP (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)
Bill Olner MP (Labour, Nuneaton)
Greg Pope MP (Labour, Hyndburn)
Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)
Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham Edgbaston)

The following Members were also a members of the Committee during the Parliament.

Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Conservative, Staffordshire South)
Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is in the inside front cover of this volume.

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are Steve Priestley (Clerk), Geoffrey Farrar (Second Clerk), Ann Snow (Committee Specialist), Kit Dawnay (Committee Specialist), Kevin Candy (Committee Assistant), Julia Kalogerides (Secretary), and Chintan Makwana (Senior Office Clerk).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone numbers for general enquiries are 020 7219 6106/6105/6394; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 29 July 2004