Select Committee on Home Affairs Fourth Report

Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies; and the administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office.

Current membership
Mr John Denham MP (Labour, Southampton, Itchen) (Chairman)
Janet Anderson MP (Labour, Rossendale and Darwen)
Mr David Cameron MP (Conservative, Witney)
Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)
Mrs Claire Curtis-Thomas MP (Labour, Crosby)
Mrs Janet Dean MP (Labour, Burton)
Mr Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour, Dover)
Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)
Mr Marsha Singh MP (Labour, Bradford West)
Mr John Taylor MP (Conservative, Solihull)
David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The following Member was also a member of the Committee for part of this inquiry: Miss Ann Widdecombe MP (Conservative, Maidstone and The Weald)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are Dr Robin James (Clerk), Mr Mark Etherton (Second Clerk), Kate Akester (Adviser (Sentencing Guidelines)), Miss Jane Gordon (Committee Legal Specialist), Dr Ben Morris (Committee Legal Specialist), Mr Ian Thomson (Committee Assistant), Melanie Barklem (Secretary), and Mr John-Paul Flaherty (Senior Office Clerk).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3276; the Committee's email address is .

In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'. All evidence for this inquiry is printed in Volume II.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 30 July 2004