Select Committee on International Development Second Report

The International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tony Baldry MP (Conservative, Banbury) (Chairman)

John Barrett MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West)

Mr John Battle MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Hugh Bayley MP (Labour, City of York)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mr Tony Colman MP (Labour, Putney)

Mr Quentin Davies MP(Conservative, Grantham and Stamford)

Mr Piara S Khabra MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Chris McCafferty MP (Labour, Calder Valley)

Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Conservative, Blaby)

Tony Worthington MP (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during this inquiry:

Alistair Burt MP (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire) and Mr Robert Walter MP (Conservative, North Dorset)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Alistair Doherty (Clerk), Sarah Hartwell (Second Clerk), Alan Hudson (Committee Specialist), Katie Phelan (Committee Assistant) and Wanda Wilson (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1223; the Committee's email address is


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'. All evidence for this inquiry is printed in Volume II.

Photo credits: Eyal Dor-Ofer ©

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 5 February 2004