Select Committee on Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Fifth Report

The ODPM: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee

The ODPM: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and its associated bodies.

Current membership

Mr Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish) (Chairman)

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield Attercliffe)

Mr Graham Brady MP (Conservative, Altrincham & Sale West)

Mr David Clelland MP (Labour, Tyne Bridge)

Mr John Cummings MP (Labour, Easington)

Mrs Eleanor Laing MP (Conservative, Epping Forest)

Mr Chris Mole MP (Labour, Ipswich)

Mr Bill O' Brien MP (Labour, Normanton)

Mrs Christine Russell MP (Labour, City of Chester)

Mr Adrian Sanders (Liberal Democrat, Torbay)

The following members were also members of the committee during the parliament.

Mr John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham)

Mr Gary Streeter MP (Conservative, South West Devon)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kate Emms (Clerk), Libby Preston (Second Clerk), Ben Kochan (Committee Specialist), Haidee Brockway (Committee Specialist), Ian Hook (Committee Assistant), Ian Blair (Chief Office Clerk) and Emma Carey (Secretary).

This inquiry was led by Annette Toft, Committee Specialist, Scrutiny Unit.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the ODPM: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1353; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 7 May 2004