Select Committee on Standards and Privileges Written Evidence

Committee on Standards and Privileges

The Committee on Standards and Privileges is appointed by the House of Commons to oversee the work of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards; to examine the arrangements proposed by the Commissioner for the compilation, maintenance and accessibility of the Register of Members' Interests and any other registers of interest established by the House; to review from time to time the form and content of those registers; to consider any specific complaints made in relation to the registering or declaring of interests referred to it by the Commissioner; to consider any matter relating to the conduct of Members, including specific complaints in relation to alleged breaches in the Code of Conduct which have been drawn to the Committee's attention by the Commissioner; and to recommend any modifications to the Code of Conduct as may from time to time appear to be necessary.

Current membership

Rt Hon Sir George Young Bt MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire) (Chairman)

Ross Cranston QC MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon)

Rt Hon Derek Foster MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Mr Michael Jabez Foster MP (Labour, Hastings and Rye)

Mr David Heath CBE MP (Liberal Democrat, Somerton and Frome)

Rt Hon Andrew Mackay MP (Conservative, Bracknell)

Mr Kevin McNamara MP (Labour, Hull North)

Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Mr Stephen Pound MP (Labour, Ealing North)

Mr Simon Thomas MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)


The constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in Standing Order No. 149. In particular, the Committee has power to order the attendance of any Member of Parliament before the committee and to require that specific documents or records in the possession of a Member relating to its inquiries, or to the inquiries of the Commissioner, be laid before the Committee. The Committee has power to refuse to allow its public proceedings to be broadcast. The Law Officers, if they are Members of Parliament, may attend and take part in the Committee's proceedings, but may not vote.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Christopher Ward (Clerk), Ms Charlotte Littleboy (Second Clerk) and Lisa Hasell (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Committee on Standards and Privileges, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6615.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 29 March 2004