Select Committee on Welsh Affairs Third Report

The Welsh Affairs Committee

The Welsh Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Office of the Secretary of State for Wales (including relations with the National Assembly for Wales.)

Current membership
Mr Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South) (Chairman)
Mr Martin Caton MP (Labour, Gower)
Mr Huw Edwards MP (Labour, Monmouth)
Mr Nigel Evans MP (Conservative, Ribble Valley)
Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon)
Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)
Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)
Mr Mark Prisk MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)
Mrs Betty Williams MP (Labour, Conwy)
Hywel Williams MP (Plaid Cymru, Caernarfon)
Mr Roger Williams MP (Liberal Democrat, Brecon and Radnorshire)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament.

Mr Adam Price MP (Plaid Cymru, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr)
Mr Chris Ruane MP (Labour, Vale of Clwyd)
Mr Bill Wiggin MP (Conservative, Leominster)

The committee is one of the Departmental select Committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are James Davies (Clerk), Paul Derrett (Committee Assistant) and Sarah Colebrook (Secretary).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Welsh Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6189; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 29 March 2004