Select Committee on Work and Pensions Second Report

Work and Pensions Committee

The Work and Pensions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Work and Pensions and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Sir Archy Kirkwood MP (Liberal Democrat, Roxburgh and Berwickshire) (Chairman)

Vera Baird MP (Labour, Redcar)

Miss Anne Begg MP (Labour, Aberdeen South)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Regent's Park and Kensington North)

Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon)

Mr Paul Goodman MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Mr David Hamilton (Labour, Midlothian)

Mrs Joan Humble MP (Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood)

Rob Marris MP (Labour, Wolverhampton South West)

Andrew Selous MP (Conservative, South West Bedfordshire)

Mr Nigel Waterson MP (Conservative, Eastbourne)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff team of the Committee is Philip Moon (Clerk), Mick Hillyard (Second Clerk), Maxine Hill (Committee Specialist), Djuna Thurley (Committee Specialist), Louise Whitley (Committee Assistant) and Emily Lumb (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5833; the Committee's email address is


Due to the printing in advance of memoranda submitted to the inquiry, the cover and front pages of Volume II incorrectly refers to the First Report of Session 2003-04. The Volume should refer to the Second Report: the House of Commons paper number (HC 85-II) is correct.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 23 April 2004