Previous Section Index Home Page

24 Feb 2005 : Column 813W—continued


Mr. Ancram: To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what educational, scholarship or hardship funds are made available by his Department to Zimbabwean students wishing to study in the United Kingdom; and what Government assistance is available to Zimbabwean students who, for political or human rights reasons, do not wish to return to Zimbabwe. [217761]

24 Feb 2005 : Column 814W

Mr. Straw: My Department provides support to Zimbabweans wishing to study in the UK through our Chevening Scholarship Programme. This year we are supporting 15 students. A similar number were sponsored last year.

We have serious concerns about the human rights situation in Zimbabwe. Should any student believe that he has a well founded fear of persecution, he is able to apply for asylum in the UK and have it considered in the normal way under the terms of the 1951 UN Refugee Convention and British legislation.


Benefit Office Closures

John Thurso: To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions if he will list the benefit offices earmarked for closure in Scotland. [217078]

Jane Kennedy: The administration of Jobcentre Plus is a matter for the Chief Executive of Jobcentre Plus, David Anderson. He will write to the hon. Member.

Letter from David Anderson to Mr. John Thurso, dated 24 February 2005:

Annex A: Jobcentre Plus site closures (from April 2002 onwards)

Region Scotland
Airdrie, Graham Street(12)
Alexandria, Mitchell Way(12)
Alloa, Bank Street(12)
Alness, High StreetClosed(13)
Anniesland, 31 Herschell StreetClosed(13)
Ardrossan, Princes Street(12)
Auldhouse, Cogan Road(12)
Ayr, Carrick Street(12)
Banff, Bridge StreetClosed(13)
Bathgate, South Bridge StreetClosed(13)
Bellshill JobcentreMerger(14)
Benbecula, Druim na Hairde(12)
Blairgowrie, Lesley StreetClosed(13)
Blantyre, Boswell Drive(12)
Blantyre, Industrial Estate(12)
Boness, East Pier StreetClosed(13)
Boness, North Street(12)
Bridgeton, Main StreetClosed(13)
Cambuslang, Somervell Street(12)
Carluke, Hamilton Street(12)
Castle Douglas, Carlingwark Street(12)
Castlemilk, Arcade(12)
Clydebank JobcentreMerger(14)
Coatbridge, Interlink Estate(12)
Coatbridge, South CircularMerger(14)
Cowdenbeath, Factory Road(12)
Craigton, Paisley Road WestClosed(13)
Cranstonhill, Minerva StreetClosed(13)
Cumbernauld, Tryst Road(12)
Cumnock, Glaisnock Street(12)
Cumnock, Townhead Street(12)
Dalkeith, Buccleuch StreetMerged(15)
Denny, Church Walk(12)
Drumchapel, Kinfauns Drive(12)
Dumbarton, Meadowbank Street(12)
Dumfries, 124 Irish Street(12)
Dunfermline, High Street(12)
East Kilbride, Murray House(12)
Edinburgh, 38 Castle Terrace(12)
Edinburgh, Haymarket(12)
Edinburgh, Torphichen Street(12)
Elgin, South StreetClosed(13)
Falkirk, Grahame House(12)
Falkirk, High Street(12)
Forfar, Station RoadClosed(13)
Fort William, Tweedale High Street(12)
Galashiels Jobcentre, Market StreetMerged(15)
Girvan, Montgomery Street(12)
Glasgow Central, Jamaica Street(12)
Glasgow City, Bath Street(12)
Glasgow City, Pitt StreetClosed(13)
Glasgow, Provan(12)
Glenrothes, North Street(12)
Haddington Jobcentre(12)
Hamilton, 19 Douglas Street(12)
Hawick, Duke StreetClosed(13)
Helensburgh, West Clyde StreetClosed(13)
Inverkeithing, Hope Street(12)
Inverness, Met House(12)
Irvine, Bank Street(12)
Johnstone SSOClosed(13)
Kelso, The SquareClosed(13)
Kilmarnock JobcentreMerger(14)
Kilmarnock Action Team, Nelson StreetClosed(13)
Kilsyth Jobcentre, Station Road(12)
Kilsyth SSO, Station RoadClosed(13)
Kilwinning, Main Street(12)
Kirkcaldy, Victoria Road(12)
Kirkintilloch, Townhead(12)
Lanark JobcentreMerger(14)
Largs, Lade Street(12)
Largs, Seamore Street(12)
Larkhall, Claude Street(12)
Larkhall, Union Street(12)
Laurieston, Devon Place(12)
Leith, Leith Walk(12)
Leven, Walton House(12)
Linwood, Burnbrae AvenueClosed(13)
Livingston, Ochil HouseClosed(13)
Loanhead, Polton RoadClosed(13)
Lockerbie, High Street(12)
Macduff, Duff StreetClosed(13)
Maryhill, 1460 Maryhill Road(12)
Montrose CSP, Murray Street(12)
Motherwell, Mason Street(12)
Nairn, High Street(12)
Newton Stewart, Queen Street(12)
Oban, Albany StreetClosed(13)
Paisley, 35 Moss StreetClosed(13)
Partick JobcentreMerged(15)
Peebles, NorthgateClosed(13)
Perth, Mill Street(12)
Pollok, Nitshill Road(12)
Portobello, High Street(12)
Portobello, Windsor Place(12)
Portree JobcentreMerger(14)
Rutherglen, Mitchell Arcade(12)
Sanquhar, Queensbury Square(12)
Shettleston, 1682 Shettleston RoadClosed(13)
Shotts Jobcentre, Dyfrig Street(12)
Shotts SSO, Dyfrig Street(12)
Stirling, Wallace House(12)
Stranraer, Ashwood Drive(12)
Thurso, Rotterdam Street(12)
Thurso, Traill House(12)
Troon, Temple Hill(12)
Uddingston, Belshill Road(12)
Wester Hailes JobcentreMerger(14)
Wick, Government Buildings (partial)(12)
Wishaw, Kirk Road(12)
Wishaw, Main Street(12)

(12) Planned for closure.
(13) Office has closed to public. Some sites may be retained for non-customer-facing activity.
(14) Office is co-located with another; one will 'close' as the site is redeveloped to support delivery of the new service.
(15) Has merged with co-located office.

24 Feb 2005 : Column 816W

Next Section Index Home Page