Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport Fifth Report

Witnesses (Volume II)

Tuesday 25 January 2005
Mr David James, Chairman, The Writers' Guild of Great Britain
Mr Rupert Rhymes, Chairman, Mr Peter Longman, Director, and Mr Mark Price, Planning Officer, The Theatres Trust
Mr Tom Williams, Chairman, Central Council for Amateur Theatre; Mr Mark Pemberton, Chief Executive, National Operatic and Dramatic Association (and Secretary of CCAT); Mr Niall Monaghan, Chair, Little Theatre Guild of Great Britain; and Mr Aled Rhys Jones, Director, Drama Association of Wales, Vice Chair of CCAT, and English speaking Secretary of the International Amateur Theatre Association.

Tuesday 1 February 2005
Mr Nicholas Hytner, Artistic Director, and Mr Nick Starr, Executive Producer, National Theatre
Mr Richard Pulford, Chief Executive, Society of London Theatre and Theatrical Management Association; Sir Stephen Waley-Cohen, President, Society of London Theatre; and Mr Derek Nicholls, President, Theatrical Management Association
Ms Charlotte Jones, Chief Executive, Mr Gavin Stride, Chair, and Mr Roger Lang, YPT Coordinator, Independent Theatre Council

Tuesday 8 February 2005
Mr Michael Attenborough, Artistic Director, and Mr Neil Constable, Executive Director, Almeida Theatre; Mr Michael Grandage, Artistic Director, and Mr Nick Frankfort, Executive Producer, Donmar Warehouse
Ms Sally Greene, Chief Executive and Trustee, Mrs Joyce Hytner, Trustee, Ms Joan Moynihan, Executive Director, The Old Vic, and Ms Diane Borger, General Manager, Royal Court Theatre
Ms Rosemary Squire, Executive Director, Ambassador Theatre Group; Ms Catie Callender, Managing Director, UK Theatrical Venues, Clear Channel Entertainment; Mr Andre Ptaszynski, Chief Executive, Really Useful Theatres; and Mr Richard Johnston, Chief Executive, Delfont Mackintosh Theatres Ltd

Tuesday 22 February 2005
Mr Stuart Rogers, Chief Executive, Birmingham Repertory Theatre; Mr Andrew Ormston, Arts Directorate, Birmingham City Council; Ms Patricia Weller, Executive Director, and Mr Greg Hersov, Artistic Director, Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Mr Ian Brown, Artistic Director, Mr Michael Pennington, actor, and Ms Henrietta Duckworth, Producer, West Yorkshire Playhouse; and Ms Angela Galvin, Chief Executive, Sheffield Theatres Trust
Mr Paul Everitt, Artistic Director, Lichfield Garrick Theatre; Mr Colin Ablitt, Portfolio Holder for Culture, Lichfield District Council; Ms Karen Hebded, Chief Executive, and Mr Eric Galvin, Vice-Chairman, Derby Playhouse; Mr Hamish Glen, Artistic Director and Chief Executive, and Ms Joanna Reid, Executive Director, Belgrade Theatre Company
Sir Christopher Bland, Chairman, Dame Judi Dench, Honorary Associate Artist, Mr Michael Boyd, Artistic Director, and Ms Vikki Heywood, Executive Director, Royal Shakespeare Company

Wednesday 2 March 2005
Mr Ian McGarry, General Secretary, Mr Harry Landis, President; Ms Christine Payne, Assistant General Secretary (Theatre and Variety), and Mr Oliver Ford Davies, Council Member, Equity; Mr Willy Donaghy, Supervisor, Arts and Entertainment Division, BECTU; Mr Horace Trubridge, Assistant General Secretary, The Musicians' Union
Ms Joan Bakewell CBE, Chair, Ms Victoria Todd, Director, National Campaign for the Arts; Mr Giles Croft, Artistic Director, Nottingham Playhouse; Sir Peter Hall, theatre, film and opera director and Artistic Director, Kingston Theatre; and Ms SuAndi OBE, Cultural Director, Black Arts Alliance
Sir Christopher Frayling, Chair, Ms Kim Evans, Acting Chief Executive, Ms Nicola Thorold, Acting Executive Director (Arts), Arts Council England; and Ms Carole Souter, Director, Heritage Lottery Fund
Rt Hon Estelle Morris, a Member of the House, Minister for the Arts, and Ms Grace Carley, Head of Arts Funding, Department for Culture, Media and Sport

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 23 March 2005