House of Commons - Minutes of Proceedings
Minutes of Proceedings Liaison Committee


House of Commons

Liaison Committee

Minutes of Proceedings

Session 2004–05

together with the Minutes of Proceedings of the Sub-Committee

Ordered by The House of Commons

to be printed 7 April 2005

Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Mr Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West) (Chairman)

The Chairmen for the time being of the Select Committees listed below:

Accommodation and Works – Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Administration – Dame Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)

Broadcasting – Mr David Lepper MP (Labour/Co-op, Brighton Pavilion)

Catering – Mr Dennis Turner MP (Labour/Co-op, Wolverhampton South East)

Constitutional Affairs – Mr Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed)

Culture, Media and Sport – Sir Gerald Kaufman MP (Labour, Manchester Gorton)

Defence – Mr Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South)

Education and Skills – Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour/Co-op, Huddersfield)

Environmental Audit – Mr Peter Ainsworth MP (Conservative, East Surrey)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Mr Michael Jack MP (Conservative, Fylde)

European Scrutiny – Mr Jimmy Hood MP (Labour, Clydesdale)

Finance and Services – Sir Stuart Bell MP (Labour, Middlesbrough)

Foreign Affairs – Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Health – Mr David Hinchliffe MP (Labour, Wakefield)

Home Affairs – Mr John Denham MP (Labour, Southampton Itchen)

Human Rights (Joint Committee) – Jean Corston MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Information – Mr Robert Key MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

International Development – Tony Baldry MP (Conservative, Banbury)

Northern Ireland Affairs – Mr Michael Mates MP (Conservative, East Hampshire)

Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions – Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

Procedure – Sir Nicholas Winterton MP (Conservative, Macclesfield)

Public Accounts – Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Public Administration – Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase)

Regulatory Reform – Mr Peter Pike MP (Labour, Burnley)

Science and Technology – Dr Ian Gibson MP (Labour, Norwich North)

Scottish Affairs – Mrs Irene Adams MP (Labour, Paisley North)

Selection – Mr John McWilliam MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Standards and Privileges – Sir George Young MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

Statutory Instruments – Mr David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth)

Trade and Industry – Mr Martin O'Neill MP (Labour, Ochil)

Transport – Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe and Nantwich)

Treasury – Mr John McFall MP (Labour/Co-op, Dumbarton)

Welsh Affairs – Mr Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)

Work and Pensions – Sir Archy Kirkwood MP (Liberal Democrat, Roxburgh and Berwickshire)

and Mr Richard Allan MP (Liberal Democrat, Sheffield Hallam)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons SO No 145. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are George Cubie (Clerk), Robert Wilson (Second Clerk), Lis Partridge (Committee Assistant) and Catherine Close (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5675; the Committee's email address is

Proceedings of the Committee

Previous Pagecontents Next Page
House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared: 31 October 2005