Select Committee on Scottish Affairs First Report

Annex 2

People the Committee met during its visits in 2004
DateLocation Individuals/Organisations visited
15-18 March 2004Islay, Glasgow, Paisley and Bushmills Representatives of Ardbeg, Bowmore, Bruichladdich and Kilchoman Distilleries

Lagavulin Distillery: Mr Donald Renwick, Distillery Manager

Laphroaig Distillery: Mr Robin Shields, Distillery Manager

Bunnahabhain Distillery: Mr John MacLellan, Distillery Manager

The Edrington Group: Ian Good, CBE, Chairman & Chief Executive; Graham R. Hutcheon, Group Operations Director

Chivas Brothers: Derek L Forsyth, Manufacturing Director

Bushmills: Gill Jefferson, Managing Director; Bryan Delaney, General Manager - Supply Operations; Lyle Pyper, Bottling Operations Manager, Helen Mulholland, Quality & Environmental Manager; Leonard McConaghie, Chief Accountant and Company Secretary

28-31 March 2004Washington DC British Embassy: James Hughes, First Secretary, Agriculture and Trade Policy; Susan Stewart, First Secretary, Scottish Affairs

US Treasury Department Alcohol & Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau: Robert M Tobiassen, Chief Counsel; Gail H Davis, Chief, International Trade Division

Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DISCUS): Dr Peter H Cressy President and Chief Executive; Lynne J Omlie, Senior Vice President, Secretary & General Counsel, Office of General Counsel; Deborah A Lamb, Senior Vice President, International Issues & Trade

Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives: Jerry D Bowerman, Chief, Alcohol & Tobacco Diversion Branch and Patrick M Hoover, ATF Specialist, International Programs Branch

Diageo Global Supplies: Mark T Baker, Director, International Trade Affairs; Sue Zolnick, Corporate Administrator/Quality Manager; Keith Swinson, Production Manager

21-22 June 2004Dungavel and Maryhill Dungavel Removal Centre: Ella Lyle, Contract Monitor

Westercommon Resource Centre


Dawn Corbett - Glasgow City Council

Brian O'Hara and Margaret McDonald - NASS Support Team

Catherine Shields - Maryhill Integration Network

Ian Duncan - Scottish Refugee Council

Mary Senior - STUC

Philip Ford - New Glaswegians, Glasgow Chamber of Commerce

Kate Davidson - Institute of Contemporary Scotland, Bridges Project

13 September 2004Glasgow Ofcom:

Vicky Nash, Director

Alan Stewart, Head of Broadcasting and Telecommunications

Clair Mack, External Relations Executive

Also met other members of staff, including Alan Fletcher, Irene Hallet, Lesley McChristie and Denise Grant

Fiona Ballantyne, Consumer Panel Member for Scotland

15-16 November 2004 DounreayColin Gregory, Head of Director's Support Office

Mark Liddiard, Senior Project Manager - Environmental Projects

Mike Brown, Senior Project Manager - DFR Projects

Alan Scullion, Senior Project Manager - Waste & Fuels Management Projects

Colin Punler, Senior Manager

Marie Mackay, Dounreay Assistant Communications Officer

13 December 2004Grangemouth BP Complex, Grangemouth

Robin McGill, Director of the Grangemouth Complex

Russell Gray, T&G Chemicals Branch Convenor and Mark Lyon, Joint Trades Union Convenor, Oils and Exploration Group and other Trade Union Representatives

Grangemouth Leadership Team

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 8 March 2005