Select Committee on Science and Technology Third Special Report

The Science and Technology Committee

The Science and Technology Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Dr Ian Gibson MP (Labour, Norwich North) (Chairman)

Paul Farrelly MP (Labour, Newcastle-under-Lyme)

Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Dr Brian Iddon MP (Labour, Bolton South East)

Mr Robert Key MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

Mr Tony McWalter MP (Labour, Hemel Hempstead)

Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, Westbury)

Geraldine Smith MP (Labour, Morecambe and Lunesdale)

Bob Spink MP (Conservative, Castle Point)

Dr Desmond Turner MP (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)


The Committee is one of the departmental Select Committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

A list of Reports from the Committee in the present Parliament is included at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Chris Shaw (Clerk); Emily Commander (Second Clerk); Alun Roberts (Committee Specialist); Hayaatun Sillem (Committee Specialist); Ana Ferreira (Committee Assistant); Robert Long (Senior Office Clerk); and Christine McGrane (Committee Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Science and Technology Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2793; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 1 February 2005