House of Commons portcullis
House of Commons
Session 2005 - 06
Publications on the internet

House of Commons

Wednesday 17th May 2006


Votes may be recorded on the Motion listed below in the 'No' lobby between
12.30 p.m. and 2.00 p.m.* (Standing Order No. 41A).


Mr Jack Straw

That the Lords Message [25th April] relating to Conventions be now considered.

That this House concurs with the Lords in the said Resolution;

That, accepting the primacy of the House of Commons, a Select Committee of 11 Members be appointed to join with a Committee appointed by the House of Lords as the Joint Committee on Conventions, to consider the practicality of codifying the key conventions on the relationship between the two Houses of Parliament which affect the consideration of legislation, in particular:

(A) the Salisbury-Addison convention that the Lords does not vote against measures included in the governing party's Manifesto;

(B) conventions on secondary legislation;

(C) the convention that Government business in the Lords should be considered in reasonable time;

(D) conventions governing the exchange of amendments to legislation between the two Houses;

and that the Committee should report by Friday 21st July 2006;

That the Committee shall have power-

(i) to send for persons, papers and records;

(ii) to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House;

(iii) to report from time to time;

(iv) to appoint specialist advisers;

(v) to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom; and

That Mr Russell Brown, Mr Wayne David, Mr George Howarth, Simon Hughes, Sarah McCarthy-Fry, Andrew Miller, Sir Malcolm Rifkind, Mr John Spellar, Ms Gisela Stuart,
Mr Andrew Tyrie and Sir Nicholas Winterton be members of the Committee.





Member's Name (Print) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Member's Signature . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

* Time will be added if divisions in the House interrupt proceedings

indicates Government Business

House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Revised 17 May 2006