Select Committee on Constitutional Affairs Sixth Report

The Constitutional Affairs Committee

The Constitutional Affairs Committee (previously the Committee on the Lord Chancellor's Department) is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Constitutional Affairs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed) (Chairman)

James Brokenshire MP (Conservative, Hornchurch)

David Howarth MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Barbara Keeley MP (Labour, Worsley)

Mr Piara S Khabra MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Jessica Morden MP (Labour, Newport East)

Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)

Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour, Southampton Test)

Jeremy Wright MP (Conservative, Rugby and Kenilworth)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Roger Phillips (Clerk), Dr John Gearson (Second Clerk), Richard Poureshagh (Committee Assistant), Alexander Horne (Legal Specialist), Anne Woolhouse (Secretary), Tes Stranger (Senior Office Clerk) and Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Committee Media Officer).


Correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Constitutional Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8196 and the email address is

Media enquiries can be addressed to Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Committee Media Officer, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. Telephone number 020 7219 0724 and email address

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 11 June 2006