Select Committee on Defence First Special Report

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mr James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman) (Conservative, North East Hampshire) Mr David S Borrow MP (Labour, South Ribble)

Mr Colin Breed MP (Liberal Democrat, South East Cornwall)

Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)

Linda Gilroy MP (Labour, Plymouth Sutton)

Mr David Hamilton MP (Labour, Midlothian)

Mr Mike Hancock MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Mr Brian Jenkins MP (Labour, Tamworth)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, Durham North)

Robert Key (Conservative, Salisbury)

John Smith (Labour, Vale of Glamorgan)

Mr Desmond Swayne (Conservative, New Forest West)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee Staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mark Hutton (Clerk), Richard Cooke (Second Clerk), Ian Rogers (Audit Adviser), Daniel Korski (Committee Specialist), Adrian Jenner (Inquiry Manager), Lis McCracken (Committee Assistant), Sheryl Dinsdale (Secretary), and James McQuade (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's e-mail address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Adele Brown on 020 7219 0724.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 27 July 2005