Select Committee on Defence Third Report

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire) (Chairman)

Mr David S Borrow MP (Labour, South Ribble)

Mr Colin Breed MP (Liberal Democrat, South East Cornwall)

Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)

Linda Gilroy MP (Labour, Plymouth Sutton)

Mr David Hamilton MP (Labour, Midlothian)

Mr Mike Hancock MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Mr Dai Havard MP (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Mr Brian Jenkins MP (Labour, Tamworth)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, Durham North)

Robert Key MP (Conservative, Salisbury)

John Smith MP (Labour, Vale of Glamorgan)

Mr Desmond Swayne MP (Conservative, New Forest West)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at:

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Philippa Helme (Clerk), Richard Cooke (Second Clerk), Ian Rogers (Audit Adviser), Stephen Jones (Committee Specialist), Adrian Jenner (Inquiry Manager), Sue Monaghan (Committee Assistant), Sheryl Dinsdale (Secretary) and Stewart McIlvenna (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Defence Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Jessica Bridges-Palmer on 020 7219 0724.

Cover image reproduced with the permission of Crown Copyright, images from

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 18 January 2006