Select Committee on Education and Skills Third Special Report

The Education And Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies.

Current membership
Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour, Huddersfield) (Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods MP (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr David Chaytor MP (Labour, Bury North)
Mrs Nadine Dorries MP (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Jeff Ennis MP (Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough)
Mr David Evennett MP (Conservative, Bexleyheath and Crayford)
Tim Farron MP (Liberal Democrat, Westmorland and Lonsdale)
Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)
Mr Gordon Marsden MP (Labour, Blackpool South)
Stephen Williams MP (Liberal Democrat, Bristol West)
Mr Rob Wilson MP (Conservative, Reading East)

The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at skills_committee.cfm.

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are David Lloyd (Clerk), Rhiannon Hollis, (Second Clerk), Libby Aston (Committee Specialist), Nerys Roberts (Committee Specialist), Lisa Wrobel (Committee Assistant), Sue Monaghan (Committee Assistant), Susan Ramsay (Committee Secretary) and John Kittle (Senior Officer Clerk).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6181; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 8 December 2005