Select Committee on Health Third Report

The Health Committee

The Health Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Health and its associated bodies.

Current membership
Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley) (Chairman)
Mr David Amess MP (Conservative, Southend West)
Charlotte Atkins MP (Labour, Staffordshire Moorlands)
Mr Ronnie Campbell MP (Labour, Blyth Valley)
Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)
Sandra Gidley MP (Liberal Democrat, Romsey)
Anne Milton MP (Conservative, Guildford)
Dr Doug Naysmith MP (Labour, Bristol North West)
Mike Penning MP (Conservative, Hemel Hempstead)
Dr Howard Stoate MP (Labour, Dartford)
Dr Richard Taylor MP (Independent, Wyre Forest)

Mr Paul Burstow MP (Liberal Democrat, Sutton & Cheam) was a Member of the Committee during the inquiry

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are Dr David Harrison (Clerk), Eliot Wilson (Second Clerk), Christine Kirkpatrick (Committee Specialist), Ralph Coulbeck (Committee Specialist), Duma Langton (Committee Assistant) and Julie Storey (Secretary).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182. The Committee's email address is

In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, which can be found in Volume III (HC 815-III). Written evidence is cited by reference in the form 'Ev' followed by the page number and the Volume Number, either Volume II (HC 815-II) or Volume III (HC 815-III).

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 18 July 2006