Select Committee on International Development Fourth Report

International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.

Current membership
Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat, Gordon) (Chairman)
John Barrett MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West)
John Battle MP (Labour, Leeds West)
Hugh Bayley MP (Labour, City of York)
John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham)
Richard Burden MP (Labour, Birmingham Northfield)
Mr Quentin Davies MP (Conservative, Grantham and Stamford)
Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Conservative, South West Surrey)
Ann McKechin MP (Labour, Glasgow North)
Joan Ruddock MP (Labour, Lewisham Deptford)
Mr Marsha Singh MP (Labour, Bradford West)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff
The staff of the Committee are Alistair Doherty (Clerk), Hannah Weston (Second Clerk), Anna Dickson (Committee Specialist), Chlöe Challender (Committee Specialist), Katie Phelan (Committee Assistant), Jennifer Steele (Secretary) and Louise Glen (Senior Office Clerk).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1223; the Committee's email address is

In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 23 July 2006