Select Committee on Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Written Evidence


  The Wessex Constitutional Convention is an all-party pressure group. It was formed on 19th May 2001, in response to the failure of the South West Constitutional Convention, meeting earlier that day, to allow genuine dialogue on the issue of regional boundaries.

  The Convention's aims are:

    (1)    To achieve the broadest consensus on the form of self-government appropriate for Wessex.

    (2)    To campaign for the implementation of that consensus at the earliest possible opportunity.

    (3)    To oppose the continuing partition of Wessex between the "South-West" and "South-East" regions.

    (4)    To promote as Wessex the area comprising the eight traditional counties of Berkshire, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Somerset and Wiltshire, subject to addition or subtraction according to popular wish.

  The Convention has no paid staff and its expenses are met entirely by donations from supportive individuals. As the resources at its disposal constrain the extent of its campaign work, the Convention has focused on disseminating the results of research and on responding to official consultations. The Convention has published The Case for Wessex, produced jointly with Wessex Society and the Wessex Regionalists. The public launch of The Case for Wessex in May 2003 attracted television coverage on BBC South and a strongly supportive editorial in the Southern Daily Echo.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 15 March 2006