Select Committee on Public Administration Fifth Report

The Public Administration Select Committee

The Public Administration Select Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration, of the Health Service Commissioners for England, Scotland and Wales and of the Parliamentary Ombudsman for Northern Ireland, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service.

Current membership

Dr Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase) (Chairman)

Mr David Burrowes MP (Conservative, Enfield Southgate)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

David Heyes MP (Labour, Ashton under Lyne)

Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP (Conservative, Bridgewater)

Julie Morgan MP (Labour, Cardiff North)

Mr Gordon Prentice MP (Labour, Pendle)

Paul Rowen MP (Liberal Democrats, Rochdale)

Grant Shapps MP (Conservative, Welwyn Hatfield)

Jenny Willott MP (Liberal Democrats, Cardiff Central)

The following Member was also a member of the Committee for part of this inquiry: Julia Goldsworthy MP (Liberal Democrats, Falmouth and Cambourne).


The Committee is one of the select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 146. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Clerk), Clive Porro (Second Clerk), Lucinda Maer (Committee Specialist), Phil Jones (Committee Assistant), Sue Holt (Secretary) and Louise Glen (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Public Administration Select Committee, Committee Office, First Floor, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3284; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 25 July 2006