Quadripartite Select Committee First Report

The Committees on Strategic Export Controls (Quadripartite Committee)

The Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry Committees are appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Department for International Development, the Department of Trade and Industry, and any associated public bodies.

Current membership

DEFENCE: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot*§, Mr David S Borrow*, Mr David Crausby*, Linda Gilroy*, Mr David Hamilton, Mr Mike Hancock, Mr Dai Havard, Mr Adam Holloway, Mr Brian Jenkins, Mr Kevan Jones, Robert Key*, Mr Mark Lancaster, Willie Rennie*, John Smith.

The following Members were also Members of the Committee during the period covered by this report: Mr Colin Breed, Derek Conway and Mr Desmond Swayne.

FOREIGN AFFAIRS: Mike Gapes*§, Mr Fabian Hamilton*, Rt Hon Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Mr John Horam, Mr Eric Illsley, Mr Paul Keetch*, Andrew Mackinlay, Mr John Maples, Sandra Osborne*, Mr Greg Pope, Mr Ken Purchase*, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley*, Ms Gisela Stuart, Richard Younger-Ross*.

The following Member was also a Member of the Committee during the period covered by this report: Rt Hon Mr Andrew McKay.

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT: John Barrett*, John Battle, Hugh Bayley, John Bercow*, Malcolm Bruce*§, Richard Burden*, Mr Quentin Davies*, Mr Jeremy Hunt*, Ann McKechin, Joan Ruddock, Mr Marsha Singh*.

TRADE AND INDUSTRY: Roger Berry (Chairman of the Committees' joint meetings)*, Mr Brian Binley, Mr Peter Bone, Mr Michael Clapham, Mrs Claire Curtis-Thomas, Mr Lindsay Hoyle*, Mark Hunter, Miss Julie Kirkbride, Peter Luff*§, Judy Mallaber*, Rob Marris, Anne Moffat, Mr Mike Weir, Mr Anthony Wright.

The following Member was also a Member of the Committee during the period covered by this report: Mrs Maria Miller.

* Member who participated in the inquiry leading to this Report
§ Chairman of a participating Committee


The Committees are departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in Standing Order No 152. The powers of the Committees to work together and agree joint reports are set out in Standing Order No. 137A. These Standing Orders are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


The Reports and evidence of the Committees are published by The Stationery

Office by Order of the House. Joint publications of the Committees (including press notices) are on the Internet at http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/quad.cfm. All other publications of the Committees are on the Internet at www.parliament.uk and can be found by going to the webpage of any of the four participating Committees. A list of Reports of the Committees in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The staff who currently work for the Committees on their joint inquiries into

strategic export controls are: Glenn McKee (Clerk), Kit Dawnay (Committee

Specialist) and Anwen Rees (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Quadripartite Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8367; the Committee's email address is quadcom@parliament.uk

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 3 August 2006