Select Committee on Treasury Third Special Report

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon John McFall MP (Labour, West Dunbartonshire) (Chairman)

Lorely Burt MP (Liberal Democrat, Solihull)

Jim Cousins MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne Central)

Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Mr Michael Fallon MP (Conservative, Sevenoaks), (Chairman, Sub-Committee)

Mr David Gauke MP (Conservative, South West Hertfordshire)

Ms Sally Keeble MP (Labour, Northampton North)

Susan Kramer MP (Liberal Democrat, Richmond Park)

Mr Andrew Love MP (Labour, Edmonton)

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Mr George Mudie MP (Labour, Leeds East)

Mr Brooks Newmark MP (Conservative, Braintree)

Mr Mark Todd MP (Labour, South Derbyshire)

Peter Viggers MP (Conservative, Gosport)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the 2005 Pre-Budget Inquiry

Mr Damian Green MP (Conservative, Ashford)

Mr David Ruffley MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via The Committee has power to appoint a Sub-Committee, which has similar powers to the main Committee, except that it reports to the main Committee, which then reports to the House. All members of the Committee are members of the Sub-Committee, and its Chairman is Mr Michael Fallon.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) from Session 1997-98 onwards are available on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Colin Lee (Clerk), Fiona McLean (Second Clerk and Clerk of the Sub-Committee), Dominic Lindley, Andrew Staines and Adam Wales (Committee Specialists), Lis McCracken (Committee Assistant), Mandy Sullivan (Secretary) and James Clarke (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee's email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Luke Robinson on 020 7219 8895.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006
Prepared 30 March 2006