Select Committee on Treasury First Special Report

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the HM Treasury and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon John McFall MP (Labour/Co-operative, West Dunbartonshire) (Chairman)

Lorely Burt MP (Liberal Democrat, Solihull)

Jim Cousins MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne Central)

Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Mr Michael Fallon MP (Conservative, Sevenoaks)

Damian Green MP (Conservative, Ashford)

Ms Sally Keeble MP (Labour, Northampton North)

Susan Kramer MP (Liberal Democrat, Richmond Park)

Mr Andrew Love MP (Labour/Co-operative, Edmonton)

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Mr George Mudie MP (Labour, Leeds East)

Mr David Ruffley MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds)

Mr Mark Todd MP (Labour, South Derbyshire)

Peter Viggers MP (Conservative, Gosport)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the Internet via The Committee has power to appoint a Sub-committee, which has similar powers to the main Committee, except that it reports to the main Committee, which then reports to the House. All members of the Committee are members of the Sub-committee, and its Chairman is Mr Michael Fallon.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) from Session 1997-98 onwards are available on the Internet at:


All correspondence for the Treasury Committee should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769. The Committee's email address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005
Prepared 19 July 2005