14 Mar 2007 : Column 321W

Written Answers to Questions

Wednesday 14 March 2007

Leader of the House

Departments: Work Permits

Mr. Clegg: To ask the Leader of the House how many work permits were applied for by his Department in each of the last five years. [127716]

Mr. Straw: None.

House of Lords: Reform

Mr. Redwood: To ask the Leader of the House what options he has considered for the determination of salaries to elected numbers of a reformed House of Lords. [126876]

Mr. Straw: Paragraph 9.11 of the White Paper said that the recommendations 119-124 and recommendation 126 of the Wakeham Royal Commission would be likely to be “guiding principles” for any changes to the remuneration of Members of the Lords.

Paragraph 10.35 of the White Paper explains that once there are firmer decisions on composition on whether Members of a reformed House should be salaried or receive expenses, the Government will discuss proposals with the other parties and then seek the advice of the Senior Salaries Review Body. Following the votes in the House of Lords on 14 March 2007 on composition of a reformed House, I propose to reconvene the cross-party group, which I chair, to assess the outcome of the debates in both Houses.

Legislation: Reviews

Norman Baker: To ask the Leader of the House (1) if he will make it Government policy for the proposed departmental reviews of legislation to be published; [126949]

(2) if he will bring forward proposals to establish a new Parliamentary Joint Committee on post-legislative scrutiny; [126950]

(3) when he expects to publish the Government’s response to the Law Commission’s report on post-legislative scrutiny. [126952]

Mr. Straw: Recommendations for the establishment of a joint committee on post-legislative scrutiny, and for greater commitment from Government Departments to post-enactment reviews of legislation, are contained in the Law Commission report on Post-legislative Scrutiny (Cm 6945). These and the other recommendations in the report are under active consideration by the Government. A response to the report will be issued in due course.

14 Mar 2007 : Column 322W


Departments: Work Permits

Mr. Clegg: To ask the Secretary of State for Wales how many work permits were applied for by his Department in each of the last five years. [127724]

Mr. Hain: None.

Culture, Media and Sport


Mr. Vaizey: To ask the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport if she will list the names of those invited to her Department’s film summit on 12 March. [126819]

Mr. Woodward: To inform the further development of the joint DCMS/DTI Creative Economy Programme, we are holding a number of industry summits. The issues raised at these events will inform the Green Paper we plan to publish in the summer.

The invitation list for the film summit was drawn up following discussions with the UK Film Council. The invitees are:

14 Mar 2007 : Column 323W

14 Mar 2007 : Column 324W
Invitee Title

Vaishali Malhotra

Eros International

Stewart Till

UKFC Board

Josh Berger

Warner Bros

Laura De Castro

MD, Tartan Films Distribution

Pam Engel

Artificial Eye

Sara Frain


Ian George

MD, Twentieth Century Fox

Alex Hamilton

President, Icon Film Distributors

Chris Hedges

Managing Director, UIP

Simon Hewlett

Managing Director, Universal

Francois Ivernel

Managing Director, Pathe Distribution Ltd

Robert Mitchell

Buena Vista

Richard Mapper


Sam Nichols

Head of Distribution, Momentum Pictures

Danny Perkins

Marketing Director, Optimum Releasing

Andy Whittaker

MD, Dogwoof Pictures

Tristan Woods-Scawen

Film Manager, Contender Entertainment Group

Nigel Green

Joint MD, Entertainment Film Distributors

Lyn Goleby

City Screen

Sandra Hebron

London Film Festival

Ivan Dunleavy

Pinewood Studios

Mark Batey

CEO, Film Distributors’ Association Ltd

Amanda Berry


Fiona Clarke-Hackston

Director, British Screen Advisory Council

Grace Carley

Managing Director, AIM

Amanda Nevill

Director, British Film Institute

Martin Spence

Acting Assistant General Secretary, BECTU

John Wilkinson

CEO, Cinema Exhibitors Association

Tim Willis


Jeff Alien

Managing Director, Panavision

Mark Benson

CEO, Moving Picture Company

Michael Elson

Deputy MD, Moving Picture Company

Rebecca Hawkes

Managing Director, Schedule 2

Alex Hope

Managing Director, Double Negative

Matthew Holden

CEO, Double Negative

Steve Morris

Chief Executive, CFC Framestore

Dennis Weinreich

Managing Director, Videosonics

Parminder Vir

Ingenious Media/DCMS Board

John Akromfrah

Smoking Dog Films

Andrea Calderwood

Slate films

Nik Powell

National Film and Television School

Douglas Rae

Ecosse Films

Simon Relph


Colin Vaines


Graham Broadbent

Blueprint Pictures

Barbara Broccoli

Eon Productions

Jonathan Cavendish

Little Bird

Sally Hibbin

Parallax Films

Andrew MacDonald

DNA Films Ltd

Andy Paterson

Archer Street Ltd

Jeremy Thomas

Recorded Picture Company

David Thompson

BBC Films

Barnaby Thompson

Fragile Films

Peter Watson

MD, Recorded Picture Company

Stephen Woolley

Company of Wolves

Andrew Eaton

Revolution Films (UKFC Board)

Alison Owen

Ruby Films (UKFC Board)

Marc Samuelson

Samuelson Productions (UKFC Board)

Tim Bevan

Producer, Working Title

Duncan Kenworthy

Producer, DMA Films Ltd

Michael Lynton

Chairman/CEO, Sony Pictures Entertainment

Lord David Puttnam

Producer, Enigma Productions

Eric Fellner

Working Title

Cameron McCracken

Pathe Pictures

Jane Barclay

Capitol Films

Michael Kuhn

Qwerty Films

Caroline Norbury

Chief Executive, South West Screen

Debbie Williams

Chief Executive, EM - Media

Adrian Wootton

Chief Executive, Film London

Joy Wong

The Works

Gaynor Davenport

Chief Executive, UKPost and Services

Steve Harris

Federation of Entertainment Unions

Dinah Caine


Janine Marmot


lan Wall

Film Education

Tessa Ross

Channel 4 Television

Colin Brown

British Film Commissioner, UKFC

Steve Knibbs

COO, Vue Entertainment

Anthony Minghella

Film Director

Rebecca O'Brien

Producer, Sixteen Films

Heather Rabbatts CBE

Chief Executive, Millwall Football Club

Iain Smith

Film Producer

David Sproxton

Producer, Aardman Animations

John Woodward

Chief Executive, UKFC

Sian Brereton


Jane Wright

Head of Rights, BBC

Isabel Begg

Head of Business, BBC

Andrew Smith

Pinewood Shepperton

Jonathan Olsberg

Olsberg SPI

Paul Trijbits

Ruby Films

Next Section Index Home Page