Previous Section Index Home Page

16 July 2007 : Column 164W—continued

16 July 2007 : Column 165W

Mr. Hoban: To ask the Secretary of State for Health what discussions he has had with ministerial colleagues in the Treasury on the reprofiling of his Department's budget before the 2006 Budget; and who initiated those discussions. [146947]

Mr. Bradshaw: It is standard practice for the Secretary of State to have regular discussions with HM Treasury Ministers about this and other finance issues.

16 July 2007 : Column 166W

Departments: Public Participation

Mr. Lansley: To ask the Secretary of State for Health which third parties are represented in his Department's National Stakeholder Forum. [147571]

Ann Keen: The information is shown in the following table.

16 July 2007 : Column 167W

16 July 2007 : Column 168W
Name Job title Organisation

Lord Victor Adebowale

Chief Executive

Turning Point

John Adler

Chief Executive

Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust

Richard Barker

Director General

The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry

Steve Barnett


NHS Employers

Stuart Bell

Chief Executive

South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust

Dr. Amit Bhargava

Member of the Professional Executive Committee

West Sussex PCT

Professor Dame Carol Black


Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

Sally Brearley


The Patients Forum

Dr. Peter Carter

General Secretary

Royal College of Nursing

Julie-Jaye Charles

Chief Executive Officer

Equalities National Council

Paul Coen

Chief Executive

Local Government Association

Angela Coulter

Chief Executive

Picker Institute Europe

Kevin Coyne

National Officer—Head of Health


Ian Dalton

Chief Executive

North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Trust

Dame Karlene Davis

General Secretary

Royal College of Midwives

Niall Dickson

Chief Executive

The King's Fund

Andrew Dillon

Chief Executive

National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence

Dr. Michael Dixon


NHS Alliance

Anne Duffy


Community and District Nursing Association

Lynne Elwell


Partners in Policy

Dr. Sam Everington

Acting Chairman of Council

British Medical Association

Paul Farmer

Chief Executive


Moira Gibb

Chief Executive

London Borough of Camden

Professor Ian Gilmore


Royal College of Physicians

Alex Gourlay

Healthcare Director

Alliance Boots

Phil Gray

Chief Executive

Chartered Society of Physiotherapy

Martin Green

Chief Executive

English Community Care Association

Professor Rod Griffiths


Faculty of Public Health

Professor Chris Ham

Professor of Health Policy and Management

Health Services Management Centre, University of Birmingham

Sharon Holder

National Officer, Public Services Section


Peter Hollins

Chief Executive

British Heart Foundation

Tom Hughes-Hallett

Chief Executive

Marie Curie Cancer Care

Neil Hunt

Chief Executive

Alzheimer's Society

Karen Jennings

National Secretary for Health


Richard Jones


NHS Partners Network

Tim Kelsey

Chair of Executive Board

Dr. Foster Intelligence

Professor Mayur Lakhani

Chairman of Council

Royal College of General Practitioners

Ian Lewington


Cystic Fibrosis Trust

Gordon Lishman

Director General

Age Concern England

Professor Hugo Mascie-Taylor

Medical Director

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dame Gill Morgan

Chief Executive

NHS Confederation

Dr. William Moyes



Menghi Mulchandani

Team Leader—Engagement with Disabled People

National Centre for Independent Living

Margaret Mythen

Chief Executive

The New Health Network

Sir John Oldham


Improvement Foundation

Angela Pedder

Chief Executive

Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust

David Pink

Chief Executive

Long-term Medical Conditions Alliance

Imelda Redmond

Chief Executive

Carers UK

Bernard Ribeiro


Royal College of Surgeons

Joanne Rule

Chief Executive


Prem Singh

Chief Executive

Derby City PCT

Douglas Smallwood

Chief Executive

Diabetes UK

Paul Snell

Chief Inspector

Commission for Social Care Inspection

Paul Sutton

Chief Executive

South East Coast Ambulance NHS Trust

Warren Town

Director of Industrial Relations

Society of Radiographers

Anna Walker

Chief Executive

Healthcare Commission

Dame Jo Williams

Chief Executive


Anne Williams


Association of Directors of Adult Social Services

Emma Wilson

Chief Executive

Local Care Direct

Andrea Young

Chief Executive

Oxfordshire PCT

Name Job title Organisation

James Fothergill

Head of Public Procurement: Health and Local Government

Confederation of British Industry

Rachael McIlroy

Public Services Policy Officer

Trades Union Congress

Disability Aids

Mr. Andrew Smith: To ask the Secretary of State for Health when he expects the review of community equipment for disabled people and wheelchair services to report. [149172]

Mr. Ivan Lewis: With regards to the review of community equipment, I reviewed the outline business case and on 19 April 2007, I approved the next phase of the development of the new model.

During the next 10 months, the transforming community equipment and wheelchair services team will work with users and their carers, councils and their primary care trust partners, practitioners as well as other stakeholders to develop the outline community equipment model to operational status by April 2008.

With regards to wheelchair services, I have agreed a further data gathering exercise and asked the Care Services Efficiency Delivery programme to report to me in autumn 2007.

Disability Aids: Children

Mr. Andrew Smith: To ask the Secretary of State for Health what assessment he has made of the availability of communication aids to disabled children; and if he will make a statement. [149173]

Mr. Ivan Lewis: We have not made any assessment of the availability of communication aids to disabled children.

The transforming community equipment services project is developing a market model for the provision of community equipment, including communication aids.

Responsibility for assessing people's individual communication aids needs rests with local health and social care agencies. They are in the best position to determine local service priorities, using the increasing resources that the Government have made available.

Doctors: Foreign Workers

Peter Bottomley: To ask the Secretary of State for Health who chose the 5 February 2007 date set for the Home Office stamp to be placed in the passports of Highly Skilled Migrant Programme doctors; why it was chosen; what other dates were considered; what process of consultation took place on the choice of date; whether responses were received from (a) the Home Department, (b) representatives of doctors in training and (c) directors of medical training; who has the power to (i) change the date and (ii) accept a Home Department letter in place of the Home Office stamp; what estimate he has made of the number of (A) junior doctors and (B) medical directors who were unaware of the details of the requirement; and what information was available to Ministers of the time it would take for (x) Highly Skilled Migrant Programme status to be granted and (y) the stamp to be placed in a passport. [148311]

Next Section Index Home Page