Select Committee on Communities and Local Government Committee Second Special Report

Communities and Local Government Committee

The Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Communities and Local Government and associated bodies.

Current membership

Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West) (Chair)

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield Attercliffe)

John Cummings MP (Labour, Easington)

Mr Greg Hands MP (Conservative, Hammersmith and Fulham)

Martin Horwood MP (Liberal Democrat, Cheltenham)

Anne Main MP (Conservative, St Albans)

Mr Bill Olner MP (Labour, Nuneaton)

Dr John Pugh MP (Liberal Democrat, Southport)

Emily Thornberry MP (Labour, Islington South and Finsbury)

David Wright MP (Labour, Telford)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jessica Mulley (Clerk of the Committee), David Weir (Second Clerk), James Cutting (Committee Specialist), Sara Turnbull (Committee Specialist), Clare Genis (Committee Assistant), Ian Blair (Chief Office Clerk), Kerrie Hanley (Secretary) and Laura Kibby (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Communities and Local Government Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1353; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 25 October 2007