Select Committee on Education and Skills First Special Report

The Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies.

Membership at time Report agreed

Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour, Huddersfield) (Chairman)

Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)

Mr David Chaytor MP (Labour, Bury North)

Jeff Ennis MP (Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough)

Paul Holmes MP (Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield)

Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Fiona Mactaggart MP (Labour, Slough)

Mr Gordon Marsden MP (Labour, Blackpool South)

Mr Andrew Pelling MP (Conservative, Croydon Central)

Stephen Williams MP (Liberal Democrat, Bristol West)

Mr Rob Wilson MP (Conservative, Reading East)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are David Lloyd (Clerk), Jyoti Chandola, (Second Clerk), Libby Aston (Committee Specialist), Nerys Roberts (Committee Specialist), Lisa Wrobel (Committee Assistant), Susan Monaghan (Committee Assistant), Charlie Twyman (Sandwich Student), and Susan Ramsay (Committee Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6181; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 15 January 2007