Select Committee on Home Affairs Third Report

The Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies; and the administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers).

Current membership

Mr John Denham MP (Labour, Southampton, Itchen) (Chairman)

Mr Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)

Mr Jeremy Browne MP (Liberal Democrat, Taunton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Regent's Park and Kensington North)

Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Mrs Ann Cryer MP (Labour, Keighley)

Mrs Janet Dean MP (Labour, Burton)

Margaret Moran MP (Labour, Luton South)

Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour, Dover)

Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Martin Salter MP (Labour, Reading West)

Mr Richard Spring MP (Conservative, West Suffolk)

Mr Gary Streeter MP (Conservative, South West Devon)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at www. A list of Reports of the Committee since Session 2003-03 is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Robin James (Clerk), Miss Jenny McCullough (Second Clerk), Elisabeth Bates (Committee Specialist), Mr Tony Catinella (Committee Assistant), Ms Jenny Nelson (Secretary), Alison Forrester (Senior Office Clerk) and Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3276; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 5 June 2007