Select Committee on Procedure First Report

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Rt Hon Greg Knight MP (Conservative, Yorkshire East) (Chairman)

Ms Celia Barlow MP (Labour, Hove)

Mr Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Ms Katy Clark MP (Labour, North Ayreshire and Arran)

Mr David Gauke MP (Conservative, South West Hertfordshire)

Andrew Gwynne MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

John Hemming MP (Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley)

Mr Eric Illsley MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)

Mrs Siân C. James MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Rosemary McKenna MP (Labour, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintolloch East)

Mrs Linda Riordan MP (Labour, Halifax)

Sir Robert Smith MP (Liberal Democrat, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine)

Mr Rob Wilson MP (Conservative, Reading East)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during these inquiries:

Mr David Anderson MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Mr Jim Cunningham MP (Labour, Coventry South)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 147. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mr Mark Hutton and Mr Keith Neary (Clerks) and Susan Morrison (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, Journal Office, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA . The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3318; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 22 May 2007