Select Committee on Public Accounts Eighth Report

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine "the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit" (Standing Order No 148).

Current membership

Mr Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)
Annette Brooke MP (Liberal Democrat, Mid Dorset and Poole North)

Greg Clark MP (Conservative, Tunbridge Wells)

Rt Hon David Curry MP (Conservative, Skipton and Ripon)

Mr Ian Davidson MP (Labour, Glasgow South West)

Mr Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)
Mr John Healey MP (Labour, Wentworth)

Mr Sadiq Khan MP (Labour, Tooting)

Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Sarah McCarthy-Fry MP (Labour, Portsmouth North)

Mr Austin Mitchell MP (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Dr John Pugh MP (Liberal Democrat, Southport)
Mr Don Touhig MP (Labour, Islwyn)

Rt Hon Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West)

Mr Iain Wright MP (Labour, Hartlepool)

The following were also Members of the Committee during the period of the enquiry:

Angela Browning MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)

Mr Alistair Carmichael MP (Liberal Democrat, Orkney and Shetland)

Jon Trickett MP (Labour, Hemsworth)

Kitty Ussher MP (Labour, Burnley)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 148. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Session is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee is Mark Etherton (Clerk), Philip Jones (Committee Assistant), Emma Sawyer (Committee Assistant), Anna Browning (Secretary), and Luke Robinson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk, Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5708; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 25 January 2007