Select Committee on Science and Technology Ninth Report

Abbreviations used in this Report

AHRC    Arts and Humanities Research Council

ANR    Agence Nationale de la Recherche

BBSRC    Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

CCLRC  Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils

CEH    Centre for Ecology and Hyrdology

CERN    The European Organisation for Nuclear Research

CLIVAR  Climate Variability and Predictability Programme

Defra    Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DFG    Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

DFID    Department for International Development

DIUS    Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills

DTI    Department for Trade and Industry

EIT    European Institute of Technology

EPSRC    Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

ERA     European Research Area

ERA-NETs  European Research Area Networks

ERC    European Research Council

ESA    European Space Agency

ESRC    Economic and Social Research Council

ETP    European Technology Platform

EU    European Union

EUROHORCS  Heads of European Research Councils

FCO    Foreign and Commonwealth Office

FP    Framework Programme

GSIF    Global Science and Innovation Forum

HEFCE  Higher Education Funding Council for England

IGER    Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research

INR    L'institut national de la recherche agronomique

IODP    Integrated Ocean Drilling Programme

IPY    International Polar Year

ITER    International Tokamak Experimental Reactor

JTI    Joint Technology Initiatives

KAIST    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

MRC    Medical Research Council

NCP    National Contact Points

NERC    Natural Environment Research Council

NOCS    National Oceanography Centre, Southampton

OSI    Office of Science and Innovation

PPARC  Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council

PSA    Public Service Agreement

RC    Research Council

RCUK    Research Councils UK

SIG    Science and Innovation Group

SIN    Science and Innovation Network

SISTER  Support for International Science, Technology and Engineering Research

STFC    Science and Technology Facilities Council

UKCRC  UK Computing Research Committee

UKRO    UK Research Office

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 31 July 2007