Select Committee on Trade and Industry First Report

The Trade and Industry Committee

The Trade and Industry Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Trade and Industry.

Current membership

Peter Luff MP (Conservative, Mid Worcestershire) (Chairman)

Roger Berry MP (Labour, Kingswood)

Mr Brian Binley MP (Conservative, Northampton South)

Mr Peter Bone MP (Conservative, Wellingborough)

Mr Michael Clapham MP (Labour, Barnsley West and Penistone)

Mrs Claire Curtis-Thomas MP (Labour, Crosby)

Mr Lindsay Hoyle MP (Labour, Chorley)

Mr Mark Hunter MP (Liberal Democrat, Cheadle)

Miss Julie Kirkbride MP (Conservative, Bromsgrove)
Judy Mallaber MP (Labour, Amber Valley)

Rob Marris MP (Labour, Wolverhampton South West)

Anne Moffat MP (Labour, East Lothian)

Mr Mike Weir MP (Scottish National Party, Angus)

Mr Anthony Wright MP (Labour, Great Yarmouth)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elizabeth Flood (Clerk), David Slater (Second Clerk), Robert Cope (Committee Specialist), Ian Townsend (Inquiry Manager), Clare Genis (Committee Assistant), Jim Hudson (Senior Office Clerk) and Joanne Larcombe (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Trade and Industry Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee's email address is


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated in the form 'Appendix' followed by the Appendix number. Appendices 1-57 have been previously published as The Government's Energy Review—Written Evidence, HC 1443 of Session 2005-06. Appendices 58-69 are published as part of this volume.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 30 January 2007