Select Committee on Administration First Special Report

The Administration Committee

The Administration Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the services provided for and by the House and to make recommendations thereon to the House of Commons Commission or to the Speaker.

Current membership

Mr Frank Doran MP (Labour, Aberdeen North) (Chairman)

Janet Anderson MP (Labour, Rossendale & Darwen)

Rt Hon Mr Nicholas Brown MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne East & Wallsend)

Mr Simon Burns MP (Conservative, Chelmsford West)

Mr Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley & Sidcup)

Frank Dobson MP (Labour, Holborn & St Pancras)

Mr Brian H Donohoe MP (Labour, Central Ayrshire)

Mr Neil Gerrard MP (Labour, Walthamstow)

Mr John Heppell MP (Labour, Nottingham East)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, Durham North)

Mr Greg Knight MP (Conservative, East Yorkshire)

David Lepper MP (Labour/Co-operative, Brighton Pavilion)

Mr John Randall MP (Conservative, Uxbridge)

John Thurso MP (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross)

Pete Wishart MP (Scottish National, Perth & North Perthshire)

The following members were also members of the committee during the inquiry.

Mr Bob Ainsworth MP (Labour, Coventry North East)

Mr Mark Harper MP (Conservative, Forest of Dean)

Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Conservative, Blaby)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 139. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are on the Internet and can be accessed via

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kate Emms and Rhiannon Hollis (Clerks), Dawn Brown (Senior Office Clerk) and Jane Lauder (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Administration Committee, Committee Office (Palace of Westminster), House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2471; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 21 January 2008