Select Committee on House of Commons Commission Report

The House of Commons Commission

The Commission is the overall supervisory body of the House of Commons Administration. It prepares and lays before the House the Estimates for the House of Commons Service; it decides most matters of policy; and it appoints staff of the House, and determines their pay, pensions and other conditions of service. The Commission may from time to time increase or reduce the number of House Departments and allocate functions to any House Department.

The Commission was established by the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978, which provides that the Commission should have six members: the Speaker as Chairman; the Leader of the House; a Member of the House nominated by the Leader of the Opposition (normally the Official Opposition's Shadow Leader of the House); and three other Members appointed by the House, none of whom may be a Minister. One Member of the Commission acts as its spokesman in the House (for example in answering Parliamentary Questions).


The Speaker, Rt Hon Michael J Martin MP (Labour, Glasgow North East)

Sir Stuart Bell MP (Labour, Middlesbrough)

Nick Harvey MP (Liberal Democrat, North Devon)

Leader of the House, Rt Hon Harriet Harman MP (Labour, Camberwell & Peckham)

Rt Hon David Maclean MP (Conservative, Penrith & The Border)

Rt Hon Theresa May MP, Shadow Leader of the House (Conservative, Maidenhead)


The powers of the Commission are set out in the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978


The Reports of the Commission are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Commission are on the Internet and can be accessed via


The staff of the Commission are Andrew Kennon (Secretary), Jenny McCullough (Assistant Secretary) and Louise Sargent (Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Secretary of the House of Commons Commission, Committee Office (Palace of Westminster), House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3299; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 19 December 2007