Select Committee on Regulatory Reform First Report

The Regulatory Reform Committee

The Regulatory Reform Committee (previously the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee) is appointed to consider and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141, which were approved on 4 July.

Current membership

Andrew Miller (Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston) (Chairman)

Gordon Banks (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire)

Lorely Burt (Liberal Democrat, Solihull)

Mr Quentin Davies (Labour, Grantham and Stamford)

Mr James Gray (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Stephen Hammond (Conservative, Wimbledon)

John Hemming (Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley)

Mrs Sharon Hodgson (Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West)

Mr Stewart Jackson (Conservative, Peterborough)

Judy Mallaber (Labour, Amber Valley)

Dr Doug Naysmith (Labour/Co-operative, Bristol North West)

Mr Jamie Reed (Labour, Copeland)

Mr Anthony Steen (Conservative, Totnes)

Phil Wilson (Labour, Sedgefield)

Criteria against which the Committee considers each draft legislative reform order

Paragraph (3) of Standing Order No.141 requires us to consider any draft legislative reform order against the following criteria:

… whether the draft legislative reform order —

(a) appears to make an inappropriate use of delegated legislation;

(b) serves the purpose of removing or reducing a burden, or the overall burdens, resulting directly or indirectly for any person from any legislation (in respect of a draft Order under section 1 of the Act);

(c) serves the purpose of securing that regulatory functions are exercised so as to comply with the regulatory principles, as set out in section 2(3) of the Act (in respect of a draft Order under section 2 of the Act);

(d) secures a policy objective which could not be satisfactorily secured by non-legislative means;

(e) has an effect which is proportionate to the policy objective;

(f) strikes a fair balance between the public interest and the interests of any person adversely affected by it;

(g) does not remove any necessary protection;

(h) does not prevent any person from continuing to exercise any right or freedom which that person might reasonably expect to continue to exercise;

(i) is not of constitutional significance;

(j) makes the law more accessible or more easily understood (in the case of provisions restating enactments);

(k) has been the subject of, and takes appropriate account of, adequate consultation;

(l) gives rise to an issue under such criteria for consideration of statutory instruments laid down in paragraph (1) of Standing Order No 151 (Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)) as are relevant;

(m) appears to be incompatible with any obligation resulting from membership of the European Union;


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Session of Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are John Whatley (Clerk), Judy Goodall, Acting Inquiry Manager, and Liz Booth (Secretary/Committee Assistant).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Regulatory Reform Committee, Delegated Legislation Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2837; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007
Prepared 3 December 2007