Select Committee on Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Fifth Report


BERR - Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform
BETTA - British Electricity Transmission Trading Arrangements
BWEA - British Wind Energy Association
CHP - Combined Heat and Power
CCGT - Combined Cycle Gas Turbine
CCHP - Combined Cooling, Heat and Power
Defra - Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
DIUS - Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills
DNO - Distribution Network Operator
DTI - Department for Trade and Industry
EEDA - East of England Development Agency
EEG - German Renewable Energy Act (Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz)
EIT - European Institute of Innovation and Technology
EMDA - East Midlands Development Agency
EMEC - European Marine Energy Centre
ENA - Energy Networks Association
EPSRC - Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council
ERP - Energy Research Partnership
ETF - Environmental Transformation Fund
ETI - Energy Technologies Institute
FP7 - Framework Programme Seven
IET - Institute of Engineering and Technology
IOP - Institute of Physics
IMechE - Institute of Mechanical Engineers
IP - Intellectual Property
IPC - Infrastructure Planning Commission
KIC - Knowledge and Innovation Centre
KTP - Knowledge Transfer Partnership
kV - Kilovolt
kW - Kilowatt
kWh - Kilowatt hour
LCBP - Low Carbon Building Programme
LCCA - London Climate Change Agency
LDA - London Development Agency
MRDF - Marine Renewables Deployment Fund
MW - Megawatt
MWh - Megawatt hour
NFRC - National Federation Roofing Contractors
NPS - National Policy Statement
OFTO - Offshore Transmission Network Operator
PPS22 - Planning Policy Statement 22
PV - Photovoltaic
R&D - Research and Development
RDD&D - Research, Development, Demonstration and Deployment
RAB - Renewables Advisory Board
RAE - Royal Academy of Engineering
RCUK - Research Councils UK
REA - Renewable Energy Association
RO - Renewables Obligation
ROC - Renewables Obligation Certificate
RSC - Royal Society of Chemistry
RRFCS - Rolls Royce Fuel Cell Systems
SSC - Sector Skills Council
SDC - Sustainable Development Commission
SPRU - Science and Technology Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex
SQSS - Security and Quality Supply Standards
TW - Terawatt
TWh - Terrawatt hour
UKERC - UK Energy Research Centre

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 19 June 2008