Select Committee on Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Sixth Report

Annex: Abbreviations

ACDP     Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens

ATAS     Academic Technology Approval Scheme

ATCSA   Anti-terrorism Crime and Security Act 2001

BBSRC   Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

BSA    Biological Safety Adviser

BSO    Biological Safety Officer

FMDV   Foot and Mouth Disease Virus

CL     Containment level

COSHH   Control of Substances Hazardous to Health Regulations 2002

CTSA     Counter-Terrorism Security Adviser

Defra    Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DSTL    Defence Scientific and Technical Laboratories

DIUS    Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills

FCO    Foreign and Commonwealth Office

GMO(CU)   Genetically Modified Organisms (Contained Use) Regulations 2000

HEI    Higher Education Institution

HPA     Health Protection Agency

HSE     Health and Safety Executive

IAH     Institute for Animal Health

ISTR     Institute of Safety in Technology and Research

MOD    Ministry of Defence

MRC     Medical Research Council

NaCTSO   National Counter-Terrorism Security Office

NIMR     National Institute for Medical Research

RCUK     Research Councils UK

SGM    Society for General Microbiology

SAPO     Specified Animal Pathogens Order 1998

UKCMRI   UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation

USGAO   US Government Accountability Office

VLA     Veterinary Laboratories Agency

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 25 June 2008