Select Committee on Foreign Affairs Seventh Report

Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the administration, expenditure and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies.

Current membership

Mike Gapes (Labour, Ilford South), Chairman

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell, (Liberal Democrat, North East Fife )

Mr Fabian Hamilton (Labour, Leeds North East)

Rt Hon Mr David Heathcoat-Amory (Conservative, Wells)

Mr John Horam (Conservative, Orpington)

Mr Eric Illsley (Labour, Barnsley Central)

Mr Paul Keetch (Liberal Democrat, Hereford)

Andrew Mackinlay (Labour, Thurrock)

Mr Malcolm Moss (Conservative, North East Cambridgeshire)

Sandra Osborne (Labour, Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock)

Mr Greg Pope (Labour, Hyndburn)

Mr Ken Purchase (Labour, Wolverhampton North East)

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Ms Gisela Stuart (Labour, Birmingham Edgbaston)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Robin James (Clerk), Ms Gosia McBride (Second Clerk), Mr Imran Shafi (Committee Specialist), Dr Brigid Fowler (Committee Specialist), Miss Elisabeth Partridge (Committee Assistant), Miss Jennifer Kelly (Secretary), Jane Lauder (Secretary), Miss Emma McIntosh (Chief Office Clerk), and Mr Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6394; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 6 July 2008