Select Committee on Home Affairs Fifth Report

EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=windows-1252">

The Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East) (Chairman)

Tom Brake MP (Liberal Democrat, Charshalton and Wallington)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Regent's Park and Kensington North)

Mr James Clappison MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Mrs Ann Cryer MP (Labour, Keighley)

David TC Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Mrs Janet Dean MP (Labour, Burton)

Patrick Mercer MP (Conservative, Newark)

Margaret Moran MP (Labour, Luton South)

Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour, Dover)

Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Martin Salter MP (Labour, Reading West)

Mr Gary Streeter MP (Conservative, South West Devon)

Mr David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the inquiry:

Rt Hon John Denham MP (Labour, Southampton Itchen)

Mr Jeremy Browne MP (Liberal Democrat, Taunton)

Mr Richard Benyon MP (Conservative, Newbury)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since Session 2005-06 is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Elizabeth Flood (Clerk), Jenny McCullough (Second Clerk), Elisabeth Bates (Committee Specialist), Sarah Harrison (Committee Specialist), Mr Tony Catinella (Committee Assistant), Mr Ameet Chudasama (Chief Office Clerk), Sheryl Dinsdale (Secretary) and Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer (Select Committee Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3276; the Committee's email address is




contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 8 June 2008