Select Committee on Health Third Report

The Health Committee

The Health Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Health and its associated bodies.

Current membership

Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley) (Chairman)

Charlotte Atkins MP (Labour, Staffordshire Moorlands)

Mr Peter Bone MP (Conservative, Wellingborough)

Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)

Sandra Gidley MP (Liberal Democrat, Romsey)

Stephen Hesford MP (Labour, Wirral West)

Dr Doug Naysmith MP (Labour, Bristol North West)

Mr Lee Scott MP (Conservative, Ilford North)

Dr Howard Stoate MP (Labour, Dartford)

Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)

Dr Richard Taylor MP (Independent, Wyre Forest)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr David Harrison (Clerk), Adrian Jenner (Second Clerk), Ralph Coulbeck (Committee Specialist), Laura Daniels (Committee Specialist), Frances Allingham (Committee Assistant), Julie Storey (Secretary) and Jim Hudson (Senior Office Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182. The Committee's email address is


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, and these can be found in HC 25-III. Written evidence is cited by reference in the form 'Ev' followed by the page number; Ev x for evidence published in HC 25-II, Session 2007-08, on 14 November 2007, and MMC x for evidence to be published in HC 25-III.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 8 May 2008