Select Committee on Health Third Report


AMRC      Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

BAPIO      British Association of Physicians of Indian Origin

BMA      British Medical Association

CCT      Certificate of Completion of Training

CESR      Certificate of Eligibility for Specialist Registration

CMO      Chief Medical Officer

COGPED    Committee of GP Education Directors

COPMeD    Conference of Postgraduate Medical Deans

DH      Department of Health

EEA      European Economic Area

EWTD      European Working Time Directive

FCO      Foreign and Commonwealth Office

FTSTA      Fixed-Term Specialty Training Appointment

FY1/2      Foundation Year 1/2

GMC      General Medical Council

HSMP      Highly Skilled Migrant Programme

JDC      Junior Doctors Committee

MMC      Modernising Medical Careers

MPET      Multi-Professional Education and Training

MTAS      Medical Training Application Service

NCCG      Non-Consultant Career Grade

NHS: MEE    NHS Medical Education England

PMETB    Postgraduate Medical Education and Training Board

PRHO      Pre-Registration House Officer

SAS      Staff Grade and Associate Specialist

SHA      Strategic Health Authority

SHO      Senior House Office

SpR      Specialist Registrar

SRO  Senior Responsible Owner or Senior Responsible Officer; the

terms are used by the Department of Health interchangeably

ST(n)      Specialty Registrar (year)

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 8 May 2008