Select Committee on Liaison Third Special Report

The Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Mr Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West) (Chairman)

The Chairmen for the time being of the Select Committees listed below:

Administration - Mr Frank Doran MP (Labour, Aberdeen North)

Business and Enterprise - Peter Luff MP (Conservative, Mid Worcestershire)

Children, Schools and Families - Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour/Co-op, Huddersfield)

Communities and Local Government - Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Labour, Milton Keynes South West)

Culture, Media and Sport - Mr John Whittingdale MP (Conservative, Maldon and Chelmsford East)

Defence - Mr James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Environmental Audit - Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative, South Suffolk)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Mr Michael Jack MP (Conservative, Fylde)

European Scrutiny - Michael Connarty MP (Labour, Linlithgow and East Falkirk)

Finance and Services - Sir Stuart Bell MP (Labour, Middlesbrough)

Foreign Affairs - Mike Gapes MP (Labour/Co-op, Ilford South)

Health - Mr Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley)

Home Affairs - Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)

Human Rights (Joint Committee) - Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon)

Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills - Mr Phil Willis MP (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)

International Development - Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat, Gordon)

Justice - Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat, Berwick-upon-Tweed)

Northern Ireland Affairs - Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Conservative, South Staffordshire)

Procedure - Mr Greg Knight MP (Conservative, Yorkshire East)

Public Accounts - Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Public Administration - Dr Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase)

Regulatory Reform - Andrew Miller MP (Labour, Ellesmere Port and Neston)

Scottish Affairs - Mr Mohammad Sarwar MP (Labour, Glasgow Central)

Selection - Rosemary McKenna MP (Labour, Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)

Standards and Privileges - Sir George Young MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

Statutory Instruments - David Maclean MP (Conservative, Penrith and The Border)

Transport - Mrs Louise Ellman MP (Labour/Co-op, Liverpool Riverside)

Treasury - John McFall MP (Labour/Co-op, West Dunbartonshire)

Welsh Affairs - Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon)

Work and Pensions - Mr Terry Rooney MP (Labour, Bradford North)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons SO No 145. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Helen Irwin (Clerk), Robert Wilson (Second Clerk), Kevin Candy (Committee Assistant) and Catherine Close (Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5675; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 23 October 2008