Select Committee on Public Accounts Commission Report

The Public Accounts Commission

The Public Accounts Commission is defined by the National Audit Act 1983. The Commission's principal duties under the Act are to examine the National Audit Office Estimate, to consider reports from the appointed auditor of the National Audit Office, and to report from time to time.


Rt Hon Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West) (Chairman)

Mr Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (ex-officio as Leader of the House of Commons)

Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough) (ex-officio as Chairman of the Committee of Public Accounts)

Dr William McCrea MP (Democratic Unionist, South Antrim)

Mr John McFall MP (Labour, West Dunbartonshire)

Mr Austin Mitchell MP (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Dr Nick Palmer MP (Labour, Broxtowe)

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP(Conservative, Chichester)


The Reports and evidence of the Commission are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Commission are Dorian Gerhold (Secretary of the Commission) and Ann Williams/Jill Herring (Secretaries).


All correspondence should be addressed to Mr Dorian Gerhold, Secretary of the Commission, House of Commons, 7 Millbank. London SW1P 3JA; The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6257/1366.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2008
Prepared 7 February 2008