Scrutiny of Arms Export Controls (2009): UK Strategic Export Controls Annual Report 2007, Quarterly Reports for 2008, licensing policy and review of export control legislation - Business and Enterprise Committee Contents

Annex 2: Note of the visit to Ukraine

In May 2009, we made a visit to Kiev, sponsored by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. This was a return visit following a visit to Westminster in 2007 of a delegation of Ukrainian MPs from the Committee for National Security and Defence of the Verkhovna Rada (Supreme Council), and local non-governmental organisations (NGOs) partners, to discuss and compare our two systems of strategic exports control and the parliamentary scrutiny of those two systems. In particular, we discussed the opportunities for Ukrainian parliamentary committees to examine further the licensing and policy decisions of the Ukrainian government. During our visit to Ukraine we met parliamentarians, ministers, officials and NGOs.

Participating Members:

Roger Berry (Chairman)

Sir John Stanley  Mr David S Borrow

Sunday 17 May 2009

Briefing dinner hosted by Judith Gardiner, Deputy Head of Mission, with Embassy staff.

Monday 18 May 2009

Meetings with:

Mr Valeriy Volodymyrovych Ivashchenko, the First Deputy Minister of Defence

Mr Oleksandr Gorin, Deputy Foreign Minister

Mr Oleksandr Nykonenko, Director of the Department of Arms Control and Military Cooperation

Mr. Yuriy Petrochenko, Head of the State Service for Export Control

Mr Stepan Havrysh, First Deputy Secretary of the National Security and Defence Council

Mr Hryhoriy Perepelytsia, Director of Foreign Policy Institute, Diplomatic Academy of Ukraine

Mr. Oleksandr Siver, Director of the Scientific and Technical Centre of Export and Import of Special Technologies, Hardware, and Materials

Mr. Mykola Sungurovskyi, Director of Military Programs, Razumkov Centre

Mr. Oleksiy Melnyk, Senior Fellow of Military Programs, Razumkov Centre

Tuesday 19 May 2009

Meetings with:

Mr Oleksandr Sushko, Director of the Centre for Peace, Conversion and Foreign Policy

Mr Oleh Bilorus, Chair, Committee for Foreign Affairs, Supreme Rada

Mr Aleksandr Skybinetskyi, Chair, Sub-Committee, National Security and Defence, Supreme Rada

Mr Anatoly Kinakh, Member of the Committee for National Security and Defence

Mr Yuri Samoilenko, Member of the Committee for National Security and Defence

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2009
Prepared 19 August 2009